ASUS ROG Maximus XII Extreme Z490

ASUS ROG Maximus XII Extreme Z490
C

Based on 30 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for overclocking
  • Good quality and design
  • Lots of features, but not too many to be overwhelming
  • A bit pricey
  • Not for beginners

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

ROG Maximus Z690 Extreme review
.ASUS ROG Maximus XII Extreme reviewZ490 has arrived, in this review, we look at the premium Comet Lake-S ten-core processor platform
Positive
1 month ago
guru3d.com
guru3d.com
Asus ROG Maximus XII Extreme Review
Just make sure you'll use all or most of the extra hardware in the box, and need all that headroom for memory and overclock, or you're paying for way more board than you need. No doubt about it: Among Intel Z490 motherboards, Asus' ROG Maximus XII Extreme is an absolute carnival of features. This Extended ATX dreamboat is stable and easy to work with; just make sure you really need most of the extras before paying the premium price
Positive
Read Full Bio
1 month ago
pcmag.com
pcmag.com
ASUS ROG Maximus XII Extreme Review
Simple, stable, and with great aids that make overclocking less stressful.
Positive
1 month ago
techpowerup.com
techpowerup.com
ASUS ROG Maximus XII Extreme Review | Introduction and Technical Specifications | CPU & Mainboard
IntroductionNormally when we are reviewing a new generation of Intel products we start with the ASUS Prime motherboard because it's reliable and solid, without being a bank-breaking-behemoth. It's an excellent baseline.However, with the new 10 core Intel CPU it was clear that we needed to start at ...
Neutral
1 month ago
overclock3d.net
overclock3d.net
ASUS ROG Maximus XII Extreme Z490 Motherboard Review
Added Value It’s not so much added value with this motherboard but rather you get a lot and pay for every bit of it. Big VRM and power delivery don’t come cheap for starters, but connectivity is king here. The rear I/O alone offers a rediculous 12 USB connections, including two Type C headers
Positive
1 month ago
eteknix.com
eteknix.com
youtube
Asus ROG Maximus XII Extreme Review
The ball card is it Oh Nene DisplayPort on a mini DisplayPort E-types yeah, so dim thought to lots of cabling, It's literally it's like Christmas in here. So in terms of just making you realize Oh or feel that hey, you know I've actually made a good purchasing decision. What's going with this motherboard despite the very high price? Again, ROG has done an incredible job here, just giving you a ton of stuff
Positive
TheOverclocker Magazine
1 month ago
youtube.com
youtube.com
ASUS ROG Maximus XII Extreme review
2 GHz on all ten cores with this motherboard. In this review, we look at the ROG Maximus XII Extreme. The board as stated is positioned in an enthusiast region of what is considered the high-end segment, it does look very ROG styled, stuff we like of course
Positive
1 month ago
guru3d.com
guru3d.com
youtube
ASUS ROG Maximus XII EXTREME Z490 Review
It has as I mentioned, the gold plated audio connectors are not to coalesce Pdiff It literally has everything on this rear. IR I mean it's got more USBs and you can shake a stick up whatever that means. So there you go guys
Positive
eTeknix
1 month ago
youtube.com
youtube.com
youtube
►Asus ROG Maximus XII Extreme Motherboard Review
If you want the best, most fully featured Intel Comet Lake motherboard, then I'm afraid you're going to have to pay for it and pay through the nose. If Asus Z 490 Maximus 12 Extreme is anything to go by, it is, as the name suggests, Extreme packing in a variety of luxurious and incredibly handy extras a freaking screwdriver with interchangeable heads for one, and it's also one of the highest performing Z 490 boards we've tested, But it only really makes sense if you're buying a K Series core I9 and genuinely intend to overclock the nuts off it.
Positive
TechEmpire
1 month ago
youtube.com
youtube.com
youtube
ROG Maximus XII Extreme Review
I Really like Transmog. They have amazing products so all I know like I mentioned before, if you have the budget, this is probably the best motherboard you can get. I'm still saving up to get the CPU obviously like I mentioned but only know once you get this thing connected, you're gonna probably want to use it with water cooling is you have the water pump connections over here I didn't go for all of the onboard buttons which you have many of these as me myself I actually not I don't use them that much and I'm not a big expert in building pcs either, but I'm just telling you my experiences with the products that I get
Positive
RotorDeal
1 month ago
youtube.com
youtube.com

Specs

Maximum internal memory

128 GB

Supported memory clock speeds

2133,2400,2666,2800,2933,3000,3200,3333,3400,3466,3600,3733,3866,4000,4133,4266,4400,4500,4600,4700,4800 MHz

Memory channels

Dual-channel

Number of memory slots

4