Intel Core i5-10400

Intel Core i5-10400
C

Based on 77 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for budget builds
  • Not the best for overclocking
  • Solid performance
  • Upgrade path is not great

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Intel Core i5-10400 Specs
The Intel Core i5-10400 is a desktop processor with 6 cores, launched in April 2020. It is part of the Core i5 lineup, using the Comet Lake architecture with Socket 1200. Thanks to Intel Hyper-Threading the core-count is effectively doubled, to 12 threads. Core i5-10400 has 12MB of L3 cache and oper...
Neutral
1 month ago
techpowerup.com
techpowerup.com
UserBenchmark: Intel Core i5-10400 BX8070110400
The number of benchmark samples for this model as a percentage of all 53,626,201 CPUs tested. CPU Core i5-10400Intel $130Bench 86%, 67,890 samples1x EDIT WITH CUSTOM PC BUILDER Value: 88% - Excellent Total price: $897
How Fast Is Your CPU? (Bench your build) Size up your PC in less than a minute...
Positive
1 month ago
cpu.userbenchmark.com
cpu.userbenchmark.com
How good is intel i5 10400f for gaming? (2022) playonbudget
Since this CPU is released in 2021 and it has a decent amount of cores and threads, you won’t face any problems in the next few years.Can Intel i5 10400f work without a GPU?Unfortunately No. The Intel Core I5 10400f can’t work without an external GPU, since this processor doesn’t have an integrated graphics card
Neutral
1 month ago
playonbudget.com
playonbudget.com
Intel Core i5-10400 Review
The Intel Core i5-10400 doesn't fit into any category as an outright winner, and even the recent price softness we have seen for some 10th Generation chips in Intel's stack won't be enough to elevate the chip beyond its station. The strong demand for, inflated prices of, and spotty availability of recent Ryzens keep the Core i5 viable at 3.5 stars here in early 2021
Negative
Chris Stobing
1 month ago
pcmag.com
pcmag.com
Intel Core i5-10400 Gaming Performance Review - Back2Gaming
But again, for purely gaming purposes, the Core i5-10400 is capable enough. So to conclude, the Intel Core i5-10400 6-core CPU isn’t a show stealer in terms of performance, but at its price and availability, it makes for a compelling argument for people that want a fixed set for the next 4 years to play all the modern games they want without feeling the limitation in performance even with a high-end GPU.
Neutral
1 month ago
back2gaming.com
back2gaming.com
youtube
Why Intel's i5-10400 Was Doomed from the Start
So since this thing is basically tied down by its memory speeds and those sort of budget in motherboards, the 10400 just doesn't really have a place to be recommended at all.
Negative
Hoosier Hardware
1 month ago
youtube.com
youtube.com
Intel Core i5-10400. Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra.
Positive
ScopeCreepStudio
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/sffpc
youtube
Core i5-10400 vs. Ryzen 5 3600, Sub-$200 CPU Battle
So for those reasons, in my opinion, you really shouldn't buy the core I5 10400.
Negative
Hardware Unboxed
1 month ago
youtube.com
youtube.com
youtube
Intel i5 10400 Review: The Programmers Choice!
And so this has been my review of the I5 10-400 And if you're like me and you like to do uh, stuff like finding out what's best for you, know your job. Maybe you're like I said, an application developer earlier.
Positive
Jeff The IT Guy
1 month ago
youtube.com
youtube.com
I built my pc recently and I used an intel i5 10400 with integrated graphics to tide me over until the market for GPUs is a little better. the rest of my specs are pretty similar to yours and I get ~60fps in overwatch (albeit at 720p - it's not nice but it's definitely playable). it's ridiculous paying 400% MSRP for a GPU so I feel like this is a good way to get some light gaming and a working system before upgrading for a decent price later.
Positive
imwaitingforatrain
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/buildapc

Specs

Width

6.7 in

Depth

4.6 in

Height

4 in

Weight

11.92 oz