Nvidia GeForce GTX 980

Nvidia GeForce GTX 980
Looria Grade
B

Based on 99 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

Review highlights
  • Great for gaming
  • Good price
  • Excellent performance
  • Very good cooling system
  • Easy to install and use

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

I tried the mod (no FXAA version) on Mission 45 (the one you have to fight lots of tanks and APCs). Surprisingly it doesn't lag on older hardware (GTX 980 at 1440p DSR). The drawing distance improvement is wonderful.

Positive
plastic17
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/pcgaming

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Specs

Report an Error Graphics Processor GM204 Cores 2048 TMUs 128 ROPs 64 Memory Size 4 GB Memory Type GDDR5 Bus Width 256 bit GPU I/O Top Back PCB Front PCB Back Recommended Gaming Resolutions: 1920x1080 2560x1440 3840x2160 The GeForce GTX 980 was a high-end graphics card by NVIDIA, launched on September 19th, 2014. Built on the 28 nm process, and based on the GM204 graphics processor, in its GM204-400-A1 variant, the card supports DirectX 12.

Positive
1 month ago
techpowerup.com
techpowerup.com

Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Review

Nvidia's high-end, Maxwell-based card delivers the best performance available from a single-chip gaming graphics card to date, while sipping much less power than the current competition.

Positive
Matt Safford
1 month ago
pcmag.com
pcmag.com

Honestly love everything on there i'm due and upgrade from my gtx 980 and everything else i have is 4 or more years old, if i could id get everything there.

Positive
UncleD1ckhead
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/pcgaming

UserBenchmark: Nvidia GTX 980

GPU GTX 980Nvidia $500Bench 61%, 178,350 samples1x EDIT WITH CUSTOM PC BUILDER Value: 45% - Average Total price: $948. How Fast Is Your GPU?

Positive
1 month ago
gpu.userbenchmark.com
gpu.userbenchmark.com

Well it is faster than a 1030 but not by much. I would personally not buy it to be honest. Id rather buy a second hand R9 Fury or GTX 980 over it.

Negative
Charcharo
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/Amd

MSI Care provide comprehensive service and support for your MSI devices. Enjoy free extended warranty, instant expert support, free pick-up and delivery of your devices, and many more benefits. Learn More >

Positive
1 month ago
us.msi.com
us.msi.com

Absolutely, I was using a gtx 980 with my vive, worked great.

Positive
ZandaTheBigBluePanda
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/Vive

Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 4GB Specs & Compare | GPUSpecs.com

The rating given by GPUSpecs The Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 4GB is based on Maxwell 2.0 28 nm architecture and has 2048 CUDA CORES. It also has a base clock of 1126 MHz coupled with a boost clock of 1216 MHz

Positive
1 month ago
gpuspecs.com
gpuspecs.com

5 years and still going strong

I bought this card back in 2015 and its still working like magic. I never had any issues with it whatsoever! I used to be a AMD guy but after my r9 at the time pooped on me I changed to Nvidia and I can't be happy enough that I made the switch!!! I will be upgrading soon once the 3070/3080 comes bac...

5.0
Keng Her
2 years ago
amazon.com
amazon.com

Specs

Device Type

Graphics card

Bus Type

PCI Express 3.0

Graphics Engine

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti

Core Clock

1000 MHz