Osprey Talon 33

Osprey Talon 33
Looria Grade
A

Based on 21 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

Review highlights
  • Great for a day hike
  • Perfect for a family of four
  • Good large daypack for longer hikes
  • Works decently well for air travel as a carry on
  • Weight of just around 2 pounds

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

I recently got the Talon 33 for day hiking. It’s more space than I need but I enjoy the adjustable straps so it fits well as I’m really tall. Although it’s a bigger bag, I haven’t felt it’s cumbersome. I’d definitely recommend it.

Positive
pineapplemangoapple
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/CampingGear

Goldilocks

This is just about the most pack one can comfortably handle without getting load lifters above your shoulders with a rigid frame. For everything from a challenging half-day to 36-48 hours out this pack is perfect. Works decently well for airline travel too as a carry-on.

The absolute miracle here...

5.0
Walker
6 months ago
rei.com
rei.com

Can't go wrong with Osprey!

Perfect for an 8+hr day hike if you also get the 3.0L water bladder. This pack will hold all you could need for a day & your camera gear as well.

5.0
LowSociety
7 months ago
amazon.com
amazon.com
youtube

Osprey Talon Pack Series

In spite of their lightweight construction, they also allow for dynamic body movement that avoids some of the unwieldiness of more rigid, traditional packs. I love the way they hug the body and keep the load stabilized, even if you're, climbing, over logs or jumping from rock to rock the packs, also share the use of blue sign, approved, recycled fabrics that support osprey's, ongoing commitment to sustainability, while also delivering excellent high Tenacity, strength, performance and long-term durability. The full line of packs offers varied top-loading n-panel loading options with capacities to best suit your needs, but regardless of the size or point of entry, all of the packs provide streamlined storage, easily accessed organizational features, compression systems and gear lashing options for multi-sport use. The packs are also available in size options to ensure that you get the best fit possible visit us at emwild.com to see the full collection and check out individual specifications and features to determine the talent pack or packs that are best for you, while you're on our Site make sure you sign up for our email list, so you're the first to know about special offers, gear giveaways and more we'll even throw in a free t-shirt.

Positive
Enwild
3 months ago
youtube.com
youtube.com

I’d look at the Osprey Talon 33 (no rain cover, but can buy one) or Stratos 34/36, or Kestrel 38. Personally, I’d stick with Osprey. I found Deuter bags quite ill fitting as I have a tall frame.

Neutral
Stowford164
3 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/CampingGear

Day hike carry-all.

Ideal for my uses. I am the family pack horse so room for 2-3 jackets snacks, sandwiches, and water for my family.

Pockets work out great for my needs. The little pocket on the left shoulder strap is perfect for my reading glasses or a small hand sanitizer.

I could even see this pack working o...

5.0
Joff
1 year ago
rei.com
rei.com

Good overall, not waterproof.

Zipper on outside pocket zipped closed with wallet and phone inside on 1st use. Could Not unzip even with plyers. Had to cut pocket open. Will try another Osprey however.

2.0
Amazon Customer
1 year ago
amazon.com
amazon.com
youtube

Osprey Talon 33 Day Pack

Overall, it's a really sleek highly water-resistant streamlined and minimal pack. Super lightweight for thru-hikers, an ounce counters, it's the Osprey Talon 33, thanks for watching.

Positive
Enwild
3 months ago
youtube.com
youtube.com

I’m pretty happy with my Osprey talon 33 but it is a bit too excessive for me. I like top loading design for the small amount of exterior and interior storage to keep my kindle and toiletries away from my clothes. The exterior front pocket is handy for a map and I like the bottle pockets.

I could ...

Neutral
_-_happycamper_-_
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/onebag

Good large daypack for longer hikes

Good large daypack for longer hikes. It’s a bit tight sliding in a reservoir bladder (my 22L pack is easier). Each large side pockets hold a 1L nalgene or 2 Gatorade bottles for extra hydration.

5.0
RakDin
1 year ago
rei.com
rei.com

Specs

Dimensions

27.56 x 11.2 x 9.84 inches

Weight

2 lbs. 11 oz.

Laptop

N

Volume

33 liters