Catan

award-badge

Best for Most

Board Games

Catan
A

Based on 263 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

  • Great for beginners
  • Easy to learn and play
  • Fun for all ages
  • A gateway game
  • Still worth playing in 2019

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Best Board Game of 2022 - GearLab
A favorite among many players, Catan will definitely tap into your strategy and planning skills. The goal of the game is to build and develop your settlements and cities faster than other players, which is achieved through buying and trading materials. The game's nature requires some focus, making i...
Positive
TechGearLab
2 months ago
techgearlab.com
techgearlab.com
I refuse to play Catan. It is known and brought up jokingly. Only one of us really enjoys it anyway, but i think Catan has to be the least interesting "real" board game I've ever played.
Negative
PremierBromanov
2 years ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/boardgames
youtube
Catan Review - Still Worth It?
Everyone should have to push your players Catan. If you haven't played it, you need you'd need to blow this guy, so certain as a concern 25 years 24 years off this release.
Positive
BoardGameBollocks
6 months ago
youtube.com
youtube.com
Families Stuck At Home Turn To Board Game Catan, Sending Sales Skyrocketing
When it was released in Germany in 1995 — as Die Siedler von Catan — it was an instant hit. It also won the Spiel des Jahres. Sales didn't taper off after a few years, as with his previous award-winning games
Positive
2 months ago
npr.org
npr.org
There’s definitely a glut of homemade Catan board posts on Reddit, but this one really separates itself from the herd to me. Nice.
Positive
SkyBS
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/boardgames
The Man Who Built Catan
U-Build Monopoly, released in 2010, replaces the rectangle properties with hexagonal tiles that resemble Catan’s terrain. Still, Derk Solko, a co-founder of the popular gaming forum Boardgamegeek.com, said to Wired in 2009, “If I could wave a magic wand and replace all the copies of Monopoly out there with Settlers, I truly think the world would be a better place
Positive
2 months ago
newyorker.com
newyorker.com
Everyone should own this cult-favorite board game—here’s why
In summation: Buy Catan if you haven’t already Credit: Reviewed / Camryn Rabideau Catan deserves a spot in everyone's game cabinet. Basically, I think everyone needs to own a copy of Catan—while it might not have the same name recognition quite yet, it’s well on its way to becoming an all-time classic board game in the same league with Monopoly and Scrabble. Don’t believe me?
Positive
2 months ago
reviewed.com
reviewed.com
Catan is a common gateway drug, but I wouldn’t call it a gold standard by any means. Once I discovered more modern games I never went back to Catan.
Negative
Banana_Havok
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/boardgames
The Settlers of Catan has a new name, new look for 5th edition
Klaus Teuber's famous board game The Settlers of Catan has a new look and a new name for its fifth edition. A global rebranding has shortened the title to Catan, and this newest edition is on sale now. Polygon's had some time to peruse the contents, and this edition both looks and plays great
Positive
2 months ago
polygon.com
polygon.com
Can't believe board games have come so far that Catan is now a "classic board game that sucks" equivalent to Monopoly and Sorry! and Candyland
Negative
szthesquid
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/boardgames

Specs

Assembled Product Weight

0 lbs

Age Range

10 years