Audio Technica ATH-M50x

Audio Technica ATH-M50x
Looria Grade
A

Based on 235 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

Review highlights
  • Great for PC gaming
  • Sound quality is better than Beats by Dre
  • Price is higher than the original Audio Technica ATH-M50x
  • They are durable and can be used for a long time

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

The 6 Best Podcast Headphones - Spring 2022

Even though they're closed-back headphones, their passive soundstage still seems natural, and sound seems to be coming from speakers placed in front of you, which can help if you're mixing tracks. They also have a sturdy build with a coiled cable that can help reduce tangles when you're moving around. There's a 1/8" to 1/4" adapter included that you can use to connect them to a mixer

Positive
RTINGS
13 days ago
rtings.com
rtings.com

Good headphones, BUT NOT FOR CASUAL/FUN LISTENING.

This is going to be a long review, so try to hang in there and read to the end, I promise it's worth it! Alright, so chances are, you're looking at buying the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x most likely because of one of three reasons: A friend that has never listened to genuinely good headphones before is ...

4.0
Avery G
5 years ago
amazon.com
amazon.com

The M50X gets a lot of hate here, but if you like them, that’s okay! Good luck with your setup!

Negative
Skystalker512
2 years ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/headphones

iPhone 7

You're not alone and I would expand this distinction to not only factor in popularity but functionality as well. CDs phasing out floppy disks may have been done in part for DRM purposes but the advantage was at least clear; 700MB is a hell of a lot more than 1.44MB. With the iPhone 7, Apple is takin...

Negative
supernintendo
hackernews.com
hackernews.com

I bought the ATH M50x and genuinely, GENUINELY hate them. Worst headset I've ever bought.

Negative
2 years ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/headphones

I'll secomd the m50x. Bought cause they were highly recommended at the time but I couldn't stand the sound. Harsh treble and the bass was awful

Negative
HappyPessimist33
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice

I got the Audio-Technica ATHM50XBT Wireless Bluetooth Over-Ear Headphones, Black recently and I love them so far.

Positive
CorTru619
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice

Audio-Technica ATH-M50x review: The best-sounding headphones under $200 get (slightly) better

ConclusionAlthough it's a shame Audio-Technica doesn't include a cable with a controller and microphone with the ATH-M50x Professional Studio Monitor Headphones, that probably won't bother audio purists. You do have to pay more for than for the ATH-M50 model, but the ATH-M50x version has a lot to offer, with excellent performance and a slightly more comfortable fit to go along with the detachable-cord system and extra cords.

Positive
David Carnoy
3 months ago
cnet.com
cnet.com

FWIW, I absolutely LOVE my Audio Technica ATH-M50x headphones. They're over the ear but not noise cancelling. They sound absolutely incredible. I got mine on Amazon for around $149

All I can say is try to pass on the ath m50x, I've had mine for about 6 or 7 years now and personally have grown to hate them. They're just all around bad.

Negative
PenelopeMouse
10 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice

Specs

Series

M Series

Style

DJ

Weight

10.02 oz

Recommended Use

Professional audio - monitoring