Dyson V8 Animal

Dyson V8 Animal
Looria Grade
A

Based on 158 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

Review highlights
  • Great for picking up pet hair
  • Light weight and easy to maneuver
  • Does a great job on carpet, especially low-pile carpets
  • Clears both large and small debris from bare floors with relative ease
  • Already lost its charge after a year of moderate use

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

The 7 Best Car Vacuums - Spring 2022

Overall, its cordless design, strong performance, and a reasonably wide assortment of attachments make it a solid option for vacuuming your car.

Positive
RTINGS
14 days ago
rtings.com
rtings.com

I bought a Dyson v8 animal+ for about $500 a few years ago at Costco and I love it they're going for $350-400 now. I think they have a v11 these days going for $600, but definitely in that price range you get what you pay for!

Positive
ryanegauthier
6 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/HomeMaintenance

Dyson V8 Animal

The Dyson V8 Animal is a cordless stick/handheld vacuum. It has two different suction modes and does a great job on carpet, especially low-pile carpets, and it clears both large and small debris from bare floors with relative ease. As its name suggests, it's also a fantastic vacuum for cleaning up pet hair

Positive
Dagobiet Morales Alfaro
4 months ago
rtings.com
rtings.com

My lite weight

My husband bought this for me. As a senior I love the light weight and it does a super job picking up hair that accumulates from our golden retriever. We have mostly bare wood floors with a couple of scatter rugs and it does a great job for me. Only con is having to keep my finger on the switch to k...

5.0
CTGrannie
4 years ago
walmart.com
walmart.com

Poor Customer Service

I was immediately impressed with my Dyson v8 Animal cordless (battery) vacuum. Without a cord, it is very easy for quick clean-ups. It cleans well, is light weight, well balanced and easy to maneuver. After about two months, however, it stopped working. It would not turn on. I contacted Dyson suppor...

1.0
Tom
4 years ago
amazon.com
amazon.com

I have 0 dyson love...but I don't hate the V8 Animal. It's a pretty solid cordless-even on low. Plus it's $299 from Dyson (buy direct from them)

Negative
thatgreenmaid
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/CleaningTips

One Star

Already lost its charge after a year of moderate use. This vacuum is not worth the price.

1.0
Koda
5 years ago
amazon.com
amazon.com

These days I use my Hoover OnePwr Evolve more than my Dyson V8, even though it's not HEPA-rated and can't do any above-floor cleaning.

Positive
hideo_james
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/VacuumCleaners

Better on rugs, less comfy

The Dyson V8 is better than nearly all other cordless vacuums (besides other Dysons) at deep-cleaning rugs. Though the trigger-style power switch and built-in battery can be frustrating for some people, this vacuum has had excellent reviews from owners over many years. Try to wait for a sale, when it costs less than $400.

Positive
4 months ago
nytimes.com
wirecutter.com

Easy and Quick to use

I got this as a gift from my daughter. She has an older model that I used at her house. Mine is even better. We have an old cat and need to clean everyday. It is easy and quick to do the clean up.

5.0
Momvic
1 year ago
walmart.com
walmart.com

Specs

Cleaning Method

Dry

Cyclonic Technology

Yes