Pilot Metropolitan

Pilot Metropolitan
Looria Grade
A

Based on 166 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

Review highlights
  • Great for beginners
  • Writes smoothly over time
  • Holds a lot of ink
  • Looks classy
  • Metal body

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

For a “professional aesthetic” I assume you mean a more traditional cigar shape? Check out the Platinum Plaisir, Pilot Metropolitan, or Sailor Compass.

Neutral
-twitch-
4 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

Pilot Metropolitan. Inexpensive, but a workhorse.

Positive
remshore
10 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

Their medium is a beautifully smooth nib and the perfect level of wetness. In this price range, there was only 1 other pen whose M nib surpassed it in smoothness and feel, so I’d like to throw the *Pilot Metropolitan* in the ring as well. It was recommended to me as a pen whose nib far exceeded its price class, so I don’t think I had an exceptional example. It seems to be a consistent winner for people, and though my sample size of 1 doesn’t really add much weight, I can say this M nib was the best nib in any steel nib I’ve used.

Positive
Normal-Drop-1040
8 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

I love it, probably will get another of these

A few months ago I started playing around with fountain pens. I wanted to be able to use bottled ink for drawing and writing. I started with some very inexpensive Jinhao pens, the X750 and X450. I am using Noodler's inks, Heart of Darkness, Apache Sunset, Baystate Blue, Polar Green, Black Swan Engli...

5.0
Martin
4 years ago
officedepot.com
officedepot.com

Fountain Pen Review: Pilot Metropolitan Calligraphy Nib

Nibs L to R: Fine, Calligraphy Medium, Medium. In summary, if you like Pilot Metropolitans and want to experience a slightly wider nib, I’d give this one two thumbs up.

Positive
1 month ago
wellappointeddesk.com
wellappointeddesk.com

Pilot Metropolitan Fountain Pen Review — The Pen Addict

The Pilot Metropolitan is at least in the conversation though, which is more than most under $30 fountain pens can claim. (JetPens is an advertiser on The Pen Addict and I received this product at no charge. )

Positive
1 month ago
penaddict.com
penaddict.com

As a fellow “adult” I would suggest going for a pilot metropolitan, twisbi eco, or lamy safari with a diamine ink of your choosing

Neutral
turtlekid357
9 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

Lamy Safari vs. Pilot Metropolitan Fountain Pen

The sturdy Safari has a body and cap made from injected ABS plastic. The only metal parts on the pen are the wire clip and the stainless steel nib. The Pilot Metropolitan has a heavier feel with a lacquered metal body, metal tension-fixed clip, and stainless steel nib.

Both pens have a reliabl...

Positive
1 month ago
goldspot.com
goldspot.com

Pilot Metropolitan Review: The Perfect Fountain Pen for Beginners

PILOT MR: This refillable modern fountain pen delivers refined style & an exceptionally smooth writing experience.

Positive
1 month ago
littlecoffeefox.com
littlecoffeefox.com

One Week With . . . The Pilot Metropolitan — The Gentleman Stationer

00, the packaging on the Metropolitan easily exceeds its competition. It comes in a fairly nice clamshell box enclosed in a cardboard sleeve. Definitely more than I would expect, considering that the Pilot G2 Pro is only slightly less expensive and doesn't come in a box at all

Positive
1 month ago
gentlemanstationer.com
gentlemanstationer.com

Specs

Weight

1 oz