Lamy Safari

award-badge

Best for Most

Pens

Lamy Safari
Looria Grade
A

Based on 265 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

Review highlights
  • Great for beginners
  • Good for everyday use
  • Durable and reliable
  • Affordable price point
  • Comes in a variety of colors

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Basic Black: One Week with the Lamy Safari — The Gentleman Stationer

All Safaris come with stainless steel nibs, but if you're inspired to trick out this pen I imagine that the gold nibs featured on some of the more expensive Studio models would also fit the Safari. There's no need to spend that extra money, however, because for the most part, Lamy's Steel nibs are perfectly satisfactory. I've had the best luck with the medium nibs, which write a traditional "western medium" line

Positive
1 month ago
gentlemanstationer.com
gentlemanstationer.com

I love my Lamy Safari - *especially* the grip part. I'm left handed, and us "lefties" "push" into the paper as we write. The grip helps to stop that. My Lamy is the first pen that I didn't have to hold so tightly.

Positive
hdmx539
8 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

Has anyone suggested the Lamy Safari or alstar to you yet?

Been using them as daily drivers for a while now and they seem to fit your requirements.

Positive
Halfcelestialelf
7 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

A Lamy Safari is an excellent idea if you want to get the same pen for both kids, but maybe your 10-year-old might like a Pilot Kakuno as well! They are traditionally marketed to kids learning to write, but your 15-year-old might like them (I'm 16, and I love them!), but if they want something a lit...

Positive
BirdMan22345
7 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

The only ink I’ve ever regretted buying. Threw it straight in the trash. Absolutely destroyed my white Lamy Safari

Negative
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

I think I’ve been subconsciously setting a lower limit at $100. Hear out my warped logic!

If I set an upper limit of $100, every new Lamy Safari or TWSBI Eco or Kaweco Sport is a temptation. Every sale is a nightmare. I don’t really need ten, or even two of the same pen in different colors. I don’t...

Negative
driftybits
7 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

Lamy Safari Review — Everyday Commentary

The Lamy Safari is known by pen addicts everywhere as one of the best, if not THE best, starter fountain pens on the planet. Mine has served me very well for the past six months or so and I truly enjoy writing with it. I'd argue that it is better than many of the other starter pens because unlike those pens, this is sufficiently unique and well made that you will keep using it well after you have bought pens twice or ten times its price

Positive
1 month ago
everydaycommentary.com
everydaycommentary.com

Retail. Lamy Safari F, because if I’m going to drop it in the back room when loading the baler, I may as well carry something that won’t dent.

Neutral
nupharlutea
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

I just got this ink today for my Lamy Safari!

Positive
mshegal
3 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

Lefty with a Lamy Safari. It is not an issue for me. I like the pen just fine, although I prefer my Parker 21 bc I flattened the nib just a little and it's like a fine stub now 😁

Neutral
manos_de_pietro
10 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/fountainpens

Specs

Refillable

Yes

Capped

Yes

Pocket Clip

Yes