Audio Technica ATH-M40x

Audio Technica ATH-M40x
Looria Grade
A

Based on 185 reviews

The Looria Grade (A - F) accounts for multiple factors, including sentiment, helpfulness, and more. Learn about our sources and ranking.

Review highlights
  • Great for studio monitoring
  • Clamping force is strong
  • Super floppy, sometimes hard to control
  • Closed back.- Tuned flat (all ranges the same, not flat as in pitch)
  • Over the ear, studio look

Reviews

By source
By topic
By sentiment

Top reviews

Great sounding headphones, shame about the hinge weakpoint.

Going from closed back to open back you will notice the sound opening up more, more clarity and space. Even wearing the headphones will be little less hot and more breathable. M40x was my first good headphone as well.

Positive
Venky9210
10 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/headphones

Ath m40x is a really good pair of headphones especially if this is your first real good one. It was my first as well, it sounds good and it’s durable as well and is very easy to power/drive this.

Positive
Venky9210
1 year ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice

I use my Audio Technica ATH-M40X as of recently this year. Comfortable design, great drivers inside. You can really submerse yourself into your mix w/ these over the ear headphones.

Positive
Nervous-Hawk-9496
10 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice

The M40x

The sound quality on these headphones are amazing! However, here are some things you should know about the M40x's before you buy them: Pros: * Tuned flat (all ranges the same, not flat as in pitch, of course), so you should be able to hear all sounds really well * Can get loud even powered off of mo...

4.0
Aaron
5 years ago
amazon.com
amazon.com

ATH-M40X try it! I use them for gaming a bit as well, they are perfect!

Positive
hideinhorcrux
2 years ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice

I just got the Audio Technica ATH-M40x last month and have loved them, they are on the cheaper end but sound quality is great. Helps to have an EQ program as well!

Positive
MRaltredd
2 years ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice

Excellent set of headphones

I appreciate the multiple, detachable cables. I leave the coiled one on my computer monitor and the straight one on my home theater AVR for when I want to watch quietly. Sound quality is excellent, and Jet's delivery service was fantastic. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

5.0
SR
5 years ago
walmart.com
walmart.com

Last night I ordered the ATH-M40x after doing quite a bit of research, so that’s one pair at 100 that I’ve heard good things about (edit: they don’t need an amp, and are supposed to work well with every kind of music)

Positive
2 years ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice

I'm using ATH M40x and they work perfectly fine for both gaming and casual usage.

Positive
DerpCCactus
7 months ago
reddit.com
reddit.com/r/HeadphoneAdvice

Specs

Series

M Series

Style

DJ

Weight

8.46 oz